Throwback Sunday

Living in Indiana is a constant question mark when it comes to the weather, so people in Indiana aren’t ever really surprised when the weather goes from 20 degrees and snowing to 50 and rainy the next day. It’s just normal.

So when our minds are blown by 60 plus degree weather in February multiple days in a row, you know things have gotten a little bit more weird than usual. But hey, I’ll take it!

They say that time flies when you’re having fun, and I’ve been enjoying this weather so much, I don’t even know where the weekend went. I have been trying to get out and about and take advantage of the weather while it lasts, and so I decided to go on a little adventure on this beautiful Sunday afternoon. Windows down on my way there and all.

While I was creating my Pinterest board the other day, I noticed that there is a candy shop in Lafayette, just across the bridge, not two miles from my apartment. So, I hopped in my car and drove downtown to check it out, and I’m really glad I did.

I enjoyed being able to walk around downtown on such a nice day, and stopping at McCord Candies was a great, quick weekend adventure. The building is original, and when I asked the girls working there, they said that it was over a hundred years old, and that the candy shop had been there since 1912. And you really can tell, because they haven’t made any updates at all.

It was quaint, but I really appreciated the old fashioned atmosphere as I leaned onto the bar to order myself a chocolate milkshake, and watched them mix it up right in front of me. They also have a soda fountain, all kinds of ice cream, food, and of course, candy. I decided to snap a few photos while I was looking around to share.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There was a family stopping for ice cream and a couple picking out candies while I was in there. It’s a great family atmosphere, and since they have places to sit, it would be a great place to go with friends on an afternoon to catch up over soda or ice cream.

I highly recommend checking it out – you won’t be disappointed.

Happy Sunday, everyone!

Leave a Reply

