Vacation or Staycation?

For the first time in five years, I will be taking a vacation from my spring staycations to travel to Florida with a few of my friends for my senior year of college spring break trip. Every spring break in college has been spent at home with my parents, which has always been great, but with only having one more break left I decided it was time to spend it with a little sand and sun.

I won’t be posting while I am gone, but if you’re doing the “staycation,” I found a few ideas of things to do in Lafayette and West Lafayette this coming week. If you try any of these out, let me know about your experience! I would love to hear about some other peoples’ foodie adventures in the Lafayette area.

  1. Bobby T’s Pub – Since starting this blog, I have been researching new places to check out in the Lafayette area, and today is the first time that I have seen anything about Bobby T’s. It has been open less than a year, and despite the fact that it doesn’t seem to be great with advertising, the reviews on their social media pages are full of praise. If you’re looking for a bar scene with good food, this seems to be the place to try. (And they have specials each day of the week.)
  2. The Igloo Frozen Custard – It’s starting to get warm out, and even though The Igloo is open year-round, it’s hard not to crave custard when the temperature starts to go up in the spring. This is a place I frequently drive by on my way out of Lafayette when I go home, but have never stopped. It’s on my list of things to try this semester, but if I don’t get to it before summer, I’d love to know what you think if you have tried it.
  3. Pappy’s & Bowling – If you’re a student on campus, it’s likely that you’ve been by Pappy’s in the Memorial Union. You may have even stopped in for a burger, fries, and a milkshake a time or two. However, you may not have known, or even noticed, that there is a bowling alley on that same floor of the Union. (I’m not going to lie, I’ve been past it multiple times and did not even know it was there.) If you’re staying on campus over spring break, a visit to Pappy’s and a game of bowling with your friends might just make for the perfect afternoon. And if you weren’t aware, Pappy’s is celebrating its 90th birthday this year!
  4. Knickerbocker Saloon – Okay, so this one intrigues me to no end and I cannot wait to try it when I get back from break. While I was researching new places the other day, this came up for the first time in my searches. Located in downtown Lafayette, it claims to be Indiana’s oldest bar. (With a name like “Knickerbocker,” and the fact that it is still called a saloon, I believe it, too.) Open since 1835, its website explains that it was proclaimed the oldest bar in Indiana by the Indiana State General Assembly on it’s 175th anniversary. I feel like this place would be worth checking out just for the history – but they also have a wide variety of beers, and provide live entertainment and events. Check out their events page for a few different happenings during the week of spring break.
  5. Fair Oaks Farms – My last one, and my plug for agriculture (of course). While Fair Oaks isn’t necessarily in Lafayette, if you’re staying in the area for break, it’s a fairly quick 45 minute drive directly north of campus off of I-65. An inexpensive day trip, the farm is an educational experience that teaches visitors about dairy farming, and most recently, there is a pig experience as well. I thought of this activity because, while I do really love the agricultural education aspect of the farm, they also have the BEST grilled cheese. I am a huge cheese-lover, and I am not exaggerating when I say that it is worth the trip just for the different kinds of grilled cheese you can order and eat in their restaurant. They also have a huge assortment of cheese that you can buy packaged, as well as ice cream, and a number of other dairy products, all of which I highly recommend trying.

Everyone have a safe break, enjoy your vacations, staycations, and of course – let me know if you try anything absolutely stellar.

Leave a Reply

