Trivia Night, College Style

Yesterday, my roommates asked me if I wanted to go to Trivia Night at Jake’s that evening. Although school is busy, and I really just wanted to stay home and relax, I decided that our time left to do fun things as a group was coming to a close as graduation gets closer and closer. So, I went with them to Jake’s to see what it was all about.

I have been to Jake’s very few times, and usually just for lunch. I did not even know they did a trivia night, and I definitely had my doubts about it. It didn’t really seem like my kind of thing, and I was expecting to not enjoy the event as much as just spending time with my friends.

Now that I have had my first Trivia Night experience at Jake’s, I can definitely say that I will be back again. Not only was it fun, but it brought out my team’s competitive side, and we even walked away with prizes. We were pretty proud of how well we did for our first time.

The fun starts every Wednesday night at 9:30 pm, and it is a good idea to go early to get a table, because it is pretty popular. There are six rounds with two bonus rounds, and after the announcer reads of the question, each team has the time of one song length to come up with the answer and decide how many points they want to wager. The most important rule: no phones while you are filling out cards!

IMG_7465.JPG

Our team’s trivia cards and answers for the first two rounds.

We ordered a few pitchers of Blue Moon, and had a pretty laid-back night together. At least, as laid back as we could be while trying to do our best to come up with the answers to the questions.

The great thing about Jake’s is that they always have drink specials, whereas Harry’s never does. Depending on the day, the specials will be written up on the chalk board, and we chose our drinks last night based on what sounded good, but also was a good deal. Additionally, if you’re hungry, they have great bar food – we enjoyed an order of waffle fries prior to the start of the game, and I will definitely be back just for those.

After about two and a half hours of our team putting our brains together to come up with the best answers, and surviving the more difficult questions of the last three rounds, we were so excited to come out as the second place team. Everyone knows that college students love free stuff, and we were not the exception. We won an assortment of t-shirts, cups, cookies, shot glasses, and a $15 certificate for Jake’s.

IMG_7462.JPG

Our team after winning second place at Trivia Night at Jake’s Roadhouse.

If you’re looking to try something a little different over casual drinks with friends, Jake’s Roadhouse is definitely the place to be on Wednesday nights. Next time, we will be looking to come away #1, and practice makes perfect!

Leave a Reply

