Sweet Summertime

As the semester is closing out and we are on the verge of summer break here at Purdue University, this will also be the last week that I post on my blog for my COM 407 course. I will be pretty busy with work this summer, and unfortunately away from Lafayette, so I want to leave everyone with some event ideas for fun foodie things to do in hopes that some of you will check them out and let me know what your favorites were.

First of all, I am really excited for the Farmers Market to open back up. At the beginning of every fall semester and during finals week, I always look forward to Thursdays on Memorial Mall, where local vendors sell their produce, baked goods, and flowers, among other things.

DSC_0525.JPG

A photo of a booth from last year’s Farmers Market.

I have been known to grab a cookie to enjoy on the way to my next class, or a bouquet of vibrantly colored flowers for my apartment. Opening day is May 3rd for Cumberland Park in West Lafayette, May 4th this year for Purdue’s campus, and May 6th on 5th street in downtown Lafayette.

Another fun event that I came across is one hosted by Wildcat Creek Winery in Lafayette. On May 20th from 11 am until 6 pm, they are hosting a BBQ, Bluegrass, and Blueberry Wine event. My family are all from Kentucky, and so I was raised on a little bluegrass music, and I definitely enjoy any kind of fruit wine, so this is something I would absolutely check out if I was in town. There are a limited number of on-site parking passes available, and they go on sale May 1st, so check out their website.

wine.jpg

Image taken from wildcatcreekwinery.com

On June 17th, there is an event called TASTE of Tippecanoe in downtown Lafayette from 4 pm until midnight. With live music, local fare, and fireworks, it is the perfect summertime event, and tickets are only $5.00 in advance, on sale through June 14th. With admission to kids 12 years and younger, it is a great family event in Lafayette.

One more event that would be a great Saturday adventure is Beers Across the Wabash, which is a beer-tasting experience held on the John T. Meyers Pedestrian Bridge over the Wabash River in Lafayette on Saturday, August 26th. With over 100 different beers from 25-30 Indiana craft breweries, it’s sure to be just that – an experience. You can purchase a ticket which includes admission to the event and a collectible sample sample cup.

With the beautiful weather we had today almost in the 80’s, I became really excited for summer, and hope that people enjoy some of the events found in the greater Lafayette area!

Leave a Reply

